Conduit vs Upfirst: paying per call vs a fixed allowance
Upfirst is an AI receptionist metered by the call: Starter is $24.95/mo for 30 calls, $1.50 per extra call; Premium $59.95 for 90; Pro $159.95 for 300; 14-day free trial with no card; booking into Google, Outlook, Clio, Acuity, Calendly, and Square on every plan (October 2026, per upfirst.ai/pricing; verified 2026-10-09). Check their site for current pricing.
Prices verified 2026-10-09 · source: upfirst.ai/pricing
The same nine questions, asked of both
- Entry price and what it includes
- Upfirst: Starter $24.95/mo — 30 calls
- Conduit: Solo $79/mo — 150 minutes, 300 texts, every capability
- What happens past the allowance
- Upfirst: $1.50 per extra call on Starter ($1 on Premium)
- Conduit: Message-taking; optional one-time packs; no overage billing, ever
- What counts against the allowance
- Upfirst: Counted per call, not per minute
- Conduit: Only a real person talking to the assistant; spam, robocalls and hang-ups under ten seconds are refunded
- Books into your calendar
- Upfirst: Every plan — Google, Outlook, Clio, Acuity, Calendly, and Square
- Conduit: Every plan — two-way Google Calendar, capacity-aware, no double-booking
- Texting
- Upfirst: In-call texting on every plan
- Conduit: Confirmations, reminders, missed-call text-back, mid-call links — once carrier registration clears (we file and chase it)
- Emergency path
- Upfirst: Not stated on their pricing page
- Conduit: Puts the caller through to you, then texts each emergency contact in turn until someone opens the alert
- Disclosure
- Upfirst: Not stated on their pricing page
- Conduit: Every call opens with the AI-and-recording sentence; it can't be removed
- Owner visibility
- Upfirst: Not stated on their pricing page
- Conduit: Every recording and transcript in Calls; one briefing every morning; every lead written down
- Trial / guarantee
- Upfirst: 14-day free trial, no card; free 30-minute onboarding call; no guarantee stated
- Conduit: No trial; free setup; 30-day money-back on the first payment
Upfirst pricing and features are read from their own published pages and were verified on 2026-10-09 (October 9, 2026). Plans change — check their site before deciding. Trademarks belong to their owners; named for identification only.
Upfirst is the cheapest entry on this site — $24.95 for 30 calls with booking and in-call texting on every plan, a 14-day no-card trial, and more calendar integrations than Conduit, which connects Google Calendar only. It meters by call, $1.50 each past the plan, so a 90-call month is $59.95 on Premium and a 150-call month about $120 there (about $205 on Starter); Conduit Solo's $79 covers 150 minutes however many calls that is, refunds spam and hang-ups, and never bills past the allowance. Pick Upfirst for a light line or if you book in Outlook, Acuity, or Square; pick Conduit for a busy line and a bill that doesn't move.
Compare further: every comparison · the best AI receptionists, ranked honestly · what an AI receptionist costs · Conduit pricing
Common questions
Is Upfirst cheaper than Conduit?
For a light line, clearly: Starter is $24.95 a month for 30 calls (October 2026, per upfirst.ai). Per-call billing climbs with volume — $1.50 a call past the plan on Starter. Conduit Solo is $79 for 150 minutes and 300 texts, with no overage of any kind.
Which calendars does each one book into?
Upfirst books into Google, Outlook, Clio, Acuity, Calendly, and Square on every plan. Conduit connects Google Calendar only, two ways, on every plan. If you run your book in Outlook or Acuity, that alone may decide it — and we'd rather you know now.
Can I switch from Upfirst to Conduit?
Yes. Your number stays yours: build your assistant free, pick a plan when you're ready, and point your call forwarding at your assistant's number. Forwarding is reversible, so switching back is pointing it back. Calls work from day one; texting switches on once carrier registration clears.
Prices on this page verified 2026-10-09 · Trademarks belong to their owners; named for identification only.